User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
#1 Old 11-07-2012, 12:13 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Advice Needed... My First Post!

Hello Everyone,

Recently got myself a 2005 Nissan Murano S (2 days ago to be exact ). I am new to the car world on a whole. This is my first car. Although had a great love for cars, never really had the money get one for myself.

So to start off with I had a few questions about the maintenance stuff. Mostly related to engine oil.

1. How much engine oil does the Murano need? I mean what is the capacity of the engine oil tank?
2. Which engine oil?
3. How frequently do I have to change it?
4. Is it advisable to get the engine oil changed now, so that I can keep track of future oil changes myself? I got it off the dealer, so cant really tell how old the existing engine oil is.

I would love to do the engine oil changes myself. Some advise on that would be great as well. Or is it better to get it done by a mechanic?

Looking forward to some tips. Please be nice as this is my first time in the car community!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-07-2012, 01:52 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Questions 1-3 can be answered by reading the owner's manual, which is highly recommended for any new (to you) vehicle. It's guaranteed that you will learn things about the car you will never figure out otherwise. Not picking on you - just a really, really good thing to do.

Short answers....

- 4-5 qts. Depends on the filter and your particular car.
- Synthetic (check manual for weight)
- This has been debated for 100 years. I change at 5K intervals.
- Yes, it's always good to start with a fresh oil change UNLESS the place you bought it from changed it before you bought it. They definitely should have.