| BigRedNJ |
Not sure if anyone here has seen this yet. I know, sounds like a scam at first glance, but myself and a bunch of others have done a bit of research into this and it indeed sounds legit. Basically, you fill out an ad from a company, get 5 people to do the same, and you get an apple Ipod mp3 player for free. The marketing company running the promotion (Gratis Internet) gets compensated by the companies for every referral, and there are many more people with 4 or less referrals than those who complete 5. So, they make money on the whole thing. Many of the ads can be cancelled during a free trial period, and as such you incur no cost and still get a free ipod. BTW these ipods go for around $250 in the store.
Anyway here's the url to the site, including my referrer. If you're interested, please use this link so I get credit if you sign up and complete an offer. So far I need 3 more :D If you then want one for yourself, you can get 5 people to sign up using your referrer. If there's enough interest in this (and the mods agree to it) we could set up a "conga line" of sorts to do the referrals in an ordered systematic way to get people ipods.
The link:
http://www.freeiPods.com/default.aspx?referer=7662062
Let me know if you have any questions at all on this.
MODS: if this is somehow inappropriate to post, please feel free to remove and let me know.
Thanks.
ps: the offer I did was the AOL for broadband free trial. I signed up and then cancelled 4 days later. Lots of people have done this already. |
|
|
| milgrad |
| I am interested in this..... |
|
|
| BigRedNJ |
Cool! A few words of warning I forgot to mention:
You will get spammed on the email address you use to register with. However, I used my personal yahoo address, which already does a great job filtering out the spam. If you want, you can create a temporary yahoo email account just to use for this. You do need a valid email to register.
Don't try to fake your registration or do fake referrals (ie registering twice). They look for this and will freeze your account. Try to do it as legit as possible.
Now we'll just have to convince generator to fabricate Ipod adapters for our MO's :D |
|
|
| Eric L. |
There are a lot of these "deals" (or should they be called scams) going around, particularly in the form of spam. What happens most of the time is that you sign up for an offer and give them your credit card number, and they will charge your account. Then you can cancel, but the account has already been charged so you will have to argue to have it dropped - by the time you get the case looked at, you would have been signed up for that service for some time, and they will legitamately charge you for that time - so it won't be free.
There are legitamate free things you can get online, but these offers of a free 6 megapixel digital camera, a dell laptop, or an ipod - it has some serious catches. Just a word of warning thats all. If you do go ahead with it, best of luck, maybe it will work out without too many issues. |
|
|
| BigRedNJ |
Yeah, I'd be wary of that too. But in this case, I'm pretty comfortable taking them up on the AOL offer. I've actually done that several years ago to get free internet access for a while. AOL is a pretty big company that's not going to shut it's doors anytime soon, and if you keep basic records (time/date you cancelled, cancellation confirmation number...etc) it's pretty easy to get out of any erroneous charges on your card, especially if it's a reputable bank. All common sense really. I cancelled mine successfully only after 4 days of singing up :).
Anyway, after taking some time to look into this one (just take 15 min to google it - one newspaper even had an article on it), I think it's worth taking a shot.
BTW I saw two new referrals today. Was that people from here?? |
|
|
| BigRedNJ |
First of all, thanks to those who have signed up and completed offers!
Any more takers? I only need 2 more.
:D |
|
|
|