Nissan Murano Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
My car has developed this nasty rattle that sounds like rocks underneath it. I have been chasing a hum ever since it sat for a couple months last year, and just replaced all 4 brake calipers because the slide pins were seized. This noise seems to only be there in drive and doesn't go away under 40. I haven't dared to go over 40 yet. I check the driveshaft and the front u joint has some play in one side of it. Any ideas of what to look for next/what might be a culprit. I checked over the exhaust and it doesn't appear to be broken from the outside.
Thanks

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
Is your Murano FWD or AWD?

How many miles are on it?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It is awd with 137k. Also V6. Not the first owner, so unsure of any service history on the vehicle

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
I would check the transfer case fluid level if there is any sign of it leaking. It only holds 5/8 pint, just a little over a cup.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the input. I didn't realize the transfer case fluid was not incorporated in the transmission. I will have to check that this weekend

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
thanks for the input. I didn't realize the transfer case fluid was not incorporated in the transmission. I will have to check that this weekend
It uses regular gear oil. I wouldn't drive your Murano again until you check both for a leak, and if one is found, check the fluid level. I'm concerned that you mentioned something that sounded like rocks underneath... The transfer case is located under the driver, and when it fails, I would suspect it may sound like rocks...

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·