Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just went to get my 3 year oil change and they said the rear pads are at 3mm. Quoted 450 to do the rear pads and rotor replacement. I have a friend who has a jack and tools and I'm planning to do my first every self rear brake kit replacement once the weather warms up a bit. (I am generally handy so I think I can handle this job.)
(Note: I am a fairly aggressive driver that uses brakes often)

1 - ceramic brake pads or metallic? I hear ceramic is longer lasting and recommended for light vehicles but metal handles temperature better and is recommended for suvs. Which one is better on the rear wheels for a Murano?

2 - solid, cross drilled, Slotted, cross drilled & slotted - what rotor? I keep hearing that because brake pad compounds aren't a problem anymore, solid is the best performing rotor. Is that accurate? Should I just get a solid one and call it a day?

3 - do I need any kind of special torx head to open up the calipers?

Is this a good kit?
https://brakeperformance.com/brake-rotors/premium-replacement-brake-kit.php?d=51602
Or something else from that site?

·
Registered
853 Posts
Why does a 2016 need new pads or rotors? Rotors are lifetime parts unless there’s a mechanical problem. Rear pads should last 100,000 miles easily unless there’s a problem.

@Robotazky

·
Registered
288 Posts
Why does a 2016 need new pads or rotors? Rotors are lifetime parts unless there’s a mechanical problem. Rear pads should last 100,000 miles easily unless there’s a problem.

@Robotazky
Partially agree on the rotors--in the rust belt they won't last the life of a car, but even a 3 year-old car shouldn't need to have them replaced. The pads are another story, but the rear pads aren't very thick brand new. With 3mm left, the OP should have quite some time before needing to replace them. I would just keep an eye on them until they're below 2 mm.

·
Registered
66 Posts