Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new here & glad I found the site-lot's 'o great info and tips.
I've just recently noticed on my '03 SE AWD that my CVT seems to slip under hard acceleration. The engine will wind up and the car seems to have to 'catch up' to it. This seems to be more noticeable when it is wet or damp outside. When I first got the vehicle it also seemed to be really quiet under acceleration, but now is much noisier. I'm going to take it in to the dealer but just wondered if anyone else has experienced something like this.
Thanks all!

·
the rally racing nut
83 Posts
just some ideas to think about as i am no mechanic...

The engine doesn't have as much torque and power low down as it does higher up in the rev range.

You are driving an all wheel drive car. Perhaps the wheels are slipping under load and once they stop slipping, the engine revs quicker.

It is a fairly heavy vehicle and the heavier the vehicle, the more force is needed to get it going. Once you are moving, the engine probably has an easier time.

·
Premium Member
8,368 Posts
By design the CVT will always feel like it is slipping, since you will not get a linear increase in revs as your accelerate due to the constant reshuffling of "gear" ratios in the transmission. Its an unsettling feeling for many new CVT owners but you get used to it after a while. I think the biggest downside to the CVT's slipping sensation is that it dulls the engine's sporty nature.

But then again, maybe your are experiencing an exaggerated slipping sensation and there really is something wrong with the transmission. Let us know what the dealer says, and make sure you demonstrate the problem to them by taking a tech for a ride, else you will get the typical "could not duplicate" response.

·
Registered
416 Posts
"my CVT seems to slip under hard acceleration. The engine will wind up and the car seems to have to 'catch up' to it."