Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,065 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes this has been covered in blistering detail on many websites, but for those new to this site/issue...

First, I don't pretend to be an expert, but I have rebuilt several engines and think I remember some of the basics. This will obviously be tainted with my own personal opinions. And being an engineer, I have also found some of the physics and chemistry behind this interesting. So, don't take just my opinion, you can find a lot of info on the internet about this topic.

There are many "camps" on this topic. I couldn't possibly cover them all but here are a few.

Camp 1. Smash it from the get go. This camp subscribes to the theory that if it is a good engine and you want maximum performance, you need to romp them from the start. After all, this is what racers do.

Camp 2. Drive it normally. This camp believes that you want to break in the engine the way you are going to drive it 90% of the time. After all, we aren't all racers.

Camp 3. Follow the manual. This camp believes the manufacturer knows best what the procedure is. After all, they designed the thing.

Camp 4. This is a myth. Todays engines and materials don't require breaking in. It used to be true, but the quality and precision of current manufacturing techniques makes this a non-issue. After all, this is the 21st century.

What is break in? The engine has to "break-in". Break in involves the process by which the moving metal parts wear into each other. While bearings and bushings wear together, the primary parts for consideration during break-in are the piston rings/cylinder bores. Camp one also believes its a good idea to weed out weak parts on day one.