Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to the Mo and to this forum. I've had my Mo for about 2 1/2 weeks now, and it has just under 600 miles on it. 2004 SE AWD. I really like it, it's my first non-American car (I've had 6 American cars!). I have the Bose "premium" audio system, but I have to say it's not what I would consider "premium". My 4-year-old Pontiac Grand Am GT's Monsoon system sounds a lot better.

I'm currently looking into ways to beef up the Mo's sound system. I've done custom installs in past cars I've owned and friends' cars, everything from a simple amp/speaker swap in a friend's car to a $14,000 trophy-winning system in my '98 Grand Am.

My biggest complaints with the Bose system are weak mid/highs and distortion. I currently have the bass set to -1 and treble all the way up at +5, and I'm still not satisfied with the sound. After careful listening at each individual speaker location I've concluded that the majority of the system's sound currently comes through the front door speakers. The rear door speakers are very weak and distort easily, and they don't contribute much to the mid-bass. The tweeters are fairly sad as well.

My requirements for my retrofit system are that everything must appear stock and no visible components (amps, speaker boxes, etc.) are hanging around. The last thing I want to do is sacrifice my cargo area for a sub-box.

I'm looking at a complete system overhaul, and would like to get some feedback from other audio enthusiasts out there that have worked on the Mo.