Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was out giving the MO her once over on Thursday and noticed that the oil level was down to about 1/2 way on the dip stick. So I called the dealer to ask what was up and why would a brand new vechicle (2700 kms, 1700 miles) be so low on oil.

He said
"because of the pressure that builds through the engine (which supposedly is excessive in the 3.5 because of the high performance) , all Muranos will only be filled up with 4 ltrs (4.2 quarts) of oil no matter where is goes on the dip stick".

I asked him if that was the case in all 3.5's as we have an 03 3.5SE Altima as well. He said it was and sure enough, I went home and checked. It was at the half way mark as well.

I am not a mechanic but it sems strange to me?

Anyone else notice this?

·
Registered
416 Posts
There definitely is some innaccuracy re the reading of the oil level on the dipstick. After changing the oil/filter, adding 4 litres produces a reading in the half to 3/4's area on the dipstick. The important thing is to check from time to time to make sure the oil level doesn't drop below the initial reading; if it does it means there is an oil consumption problem.

The "excessive pressure" explanation is BS....if that was the case, all sorts of gaskets would leak, the dip stick would be "blown" out of the hole it sits in etc. A HP engine(high rpms) like the 3.5 due require protection from the oil in the oil pan being sucked into the turbulance of the crankshaft; I'm sure the oil pan has a windage tray that keeps the required separation.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Does this sound stuiped,:confused: Maybe make a dipstick that would be at the fill mark when the level is correct.

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
I can't explain it but I found the same issue after my first two changes. However after that putting the same amount of oil in the MO (4qts) showed almost full on the dip stick. :confused:

·
Premium Member
8,368 Posts