Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for compatible and approve CVT fluid for my 2006 Murano as the original Nissan NS2 has a hefty price tag of $ 20.00 per quart. Because of the senstivty of the Nissan CVT transmission I am looking for positive feed back and assurance that after market products available by now are safe to use.
Specifically Castrol CVT fluid which Castrol assures to be compatible and guaranteed for use with Nissan CVT transmissions.
Any feedback and experience with Castrol or an alternative product would much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
736 Posts
I myself have only heard of only one case where non-NS2 fluid was used and the CVT lasted more then 50,000 miles after two changes using non-NS2 fluid. It did eventually fail.

I don't know, is $200 in fluid worth the risk of, a minimum of $3800, a CVT failure? As a ASE mechanic, I'd stick with the OEM recommended long term tested fluid.

Properly flushed, no power flushing, dropping the CVT pan and changing the filter, usually results in several more dependable years of service. Other factors can come into play: How hard you've driven the car, miles, service records, which can determine long term success or short term failure.

Really, only you can make the final choice after everyone chimes in.

Have a good day.

·
Super Moderator
7,903 Posts
I agree. Since you probably will change CVT fluid every 100K miles, how much of an expense is it compared to the length of service?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I posted on a similar thread about using non-NS2 fluid. In short, I regret not using NS2 and would recommend paying the extra price just to be safe.