Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks
I'm considering purchasing a new Murano but am a bit nervous about the cvt transmission. I'm a Realtor in Ontarios cottage country I put on about 50-60k a year on dirt back roads up and down hills on and off the gas constently. What I want to know is has anybody put high mileage on a Murano and how does the cvt perform after a number of miles say 80-100k or more. Would also be interested in know about the gas mileage I've heard conflicting stories about mileage from 16 mpg to 24 transport canada says it gets 32 mpg.

Any answers would be great.

Dave

·
4,664 Posts
Hey Dave, welcome!

I don't think anyone has hit that kind of milage yet. For the hills, the CVT's better than anything you've ever driven, so no worries there...

It's easy to be heavy on the gas with the Murano and not know it, since the transmission's so smooth. As result, your fuel milage won't be as good as it could be, without some brain retraining.

Even so, I wouldn't say it's steller, but it can be good.

One more comment on the hills. Set the cruise control and it does the speed pretty well. Even down hills, there's a braking effect from the CVT, so it can really "flatten out" the up and down, as far as speed goes. Good way to beat the radar traps.

·
Major Geek
638 Posts
Welcome,

Not sure if you're going to find anyone here with 80-100k miles on their Mo. I'm at 16 months and 32k. Also, I would be amazed if anyone got 32 mpg with their Mo. My best is 27, and that's on a flat highway, with cruise control, for about a half mile stretch!!

·
4,664 Posts
Yeah, come to think of it, mines the same.... I'm at 18 months as well. Usually it's worse for me, as the Murano's so much fun to drive.

·
Registered
275 Posts