Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just finished my break-in period (thank God), and made the following observations:

Following break-in requirements, I kept my speed under 65 mph. Also noticed that the RPMs were at about 1500. Fuel economy was at 25 mpg, as advertised.

After the break-in was over, I noticed that at speeds above 65 mph that the cruising RPMs were at 2000 and above, and that my fuel economy was much less (at least according to the fuel economy meter) at around 20 mpg.

My question is: As I drive the car more, will the cruising RPM decrease? Is there anyway to reduce cruising RPMs levels? I'm pretty certain that this is the reason why my fuel economy is decreasing (although, as a newb, I could be wrong).

And yes, I already know that the best fuel economy for pretty much any car is at around 45-55 mph. According to many posters, over time and miles, the fuel economy increases. Just wondering if this has anything to do with it.

·
Registered
3,285 Posts
"As I drive the car more, will the cruising RPM decrease? Is there anyway to reduce cruising RPMs levels? I'm pretty certain that this is the reason why my fuel economy is decreasing (although, as a newb, I could be wrong)."

No the RPMs will not drop.
The RPMs are a direct result of the "gear ratio" which is a bit of a misnomer here. It will take awhile tho before we accept "Spool ratio".;)

The ratio os computer controlled and is part of the profile associated with D function.
But you still may get better MPG when you get 5-10K miles than you are getting now. There is still a good bit of stiction to overcome and that will wear down gradually.

2000 RPMS tells me that you are criuisng at about 75MPH.
You won't get sterling mileage at that speed. (Same Cruising speed I use on Interstates BTW). I am currently getting 20MPG at 75 MPH and I too just passed 1500 Miles.
I am not expecting anymore than 21 when the car is fully broken in.