Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there an ideal tire pressure for a long highway trip?

I'm travelling from Georgia to Arizona over a 2 day period starting Friday and was wondering if I should slightly overinflate the tires for better gas mileage. They are currently at 32-33 . . . would I be better off higher?

Thanks!

·
Mr. 3 K, 3/3/5. 5K,10/5/7
4,994 Posts
Good luck on the trip. Is this the move to Scottsdale? I would leave the press alone but that's my opinion. :D

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Grip,

Yes, i'm moving to Scottsdale! I'll probably just leave the pressure alone . . you being a real-life rocket scientist I trust your opinion!

I'm moving to a house pretty close to Thunderbird Park, do you live near that area?

·
Registered
103 Posts
I put our at 34 all the way around. I usually take what the manufacturer suggests and add 2-3 PSI to it. I like a little more turn in response and a little stiffer ride. My wife.....she wouldn't have a clue.:p

·
Premium Member
8,368 Posts
I run 37F, 35R. No problems with uneven wear, and I prefer the sharper handling over a mushy ride.

·
4,994 Posts
Having given it some more thought, I assume you are loaded to the gills with stuff, therefor a couple of psi would probably be in order. Hope you will have Cox INTERNET service when you get here the 4mb download is great. If you combine it with phone and TV Cable they will give you a package price. Say hello when you arrive. I'll PM you my phone number.

·
Premium Member
8,368 Posts
Grip is correct. If you load the car full, you might want to run a couple psi above recommended.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
has anyone checked the accuracy of the tire pressure monitoring system? i checked my pressure this morning and my traditional guage was about 3 pounds more than the MO's.

I think the MO is correct, has anyone else calibrated the system?

·
Premium Member
8,368 Posts