Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello...I have a question for you all. What do you all think about the wood trim kits? I was thinking I would like to put it in a few areas (like on the door door handle surrounds) I definately don't want to change the aluminum. The only reason I ask this is that my only pet-peeve about the MOs interior is (at least with the black int) it seems a little stark. I have never used one of those kits before and not sure what to expect. Would it be too much... wood AND aluminum? Any comments, pics, etc???

·
Registered
2,065 Posts
See this thread.

Dash kits are easy to install...you get alcohol wipes to wipe everything down then peel and stick. But be careful. Once you stick it, you probably won't get it off without damage to the dash kit. And I'm thinking if you apply it to the aluminum trim in the MO, it may pull the aluminum trim right off too. The key is to test fit first thoroughly before pulling the backing off and sticking. Figure out guide points to get it centered well first.

I installed a brush aluminum dash kit to my Z and then took it off later. It looked great, but you could tell it was stuck on/aftermarket. My father installed a wood one in his Dodge PU and it also looks stuck on/aftermarket. I've decided I like the stock look better on my Z but the wood dash kit better in his PU. A lot depends on the interior itself and I know what you mean by applying it only in certain places. I guess what I dislike the most about them is the edges and thickness. If the edges were finished differently and it was thinner so it didn't have that "stuck-on" thick mold line look then I would like it better.

But with that said, I like the way dtwalkerfl's GP and CL looks with the wood dash kit. I also like the gold badging. Those mods make it look unique and "rich". Makes me think the wood trim would also look good with the Cabernet. But I'm no color coordinator!