Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since buying my 2020 Murano I have been reading and listening to reviews on car buying websites and various YouTube channels. The consensus among all of them seem to focus on three areas where the car is behind the competition, steering feel, CVT, and styling. Now, owners reviews are a different story.

I've been driving since 1973 and have owned a wide range of vehicles, many of which were high performance or sports cars. I drove manual transmissions and steering exclusively until about 1994 and still own a total manual car today. When I read the negative reviews about the steering feel I almost laughed. The Murano steering is accurate, you point it where you want and it goes there. Compared to a manual most all power steering cars lacks feedback INHO. I owned a 2017 Maxima before the Murano so I was used to the CVT. It was an adjustment just like when I went to an automatic. The CVT is necessary to get the gas mileage that is mandated by the government. The increase in the arbitrary CAFE standards are challenging for auto manufacturers. I applaud Nissan for sticking with a V6 instead of a turbo I4.

Which brings me to styling. With all the jellybean shaped cars and cookie cutter SUVs to say that the Murano looks bulky is a joke. I know shouldn't get excited about subjective reviews but I thought I'd add some perspective.

As far as the future of Nissan, I see a ton of Nissan cars and trucks on the road where I live. I am not concerned with the future. If the government regulations can be brought back to reality I think future of the automobile with an internal combustion engine will be intact for quite a while.

·
Registered
664 Posts