Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyway to easily check if spark plugs were actually changed by mechanic

Was hoping someone might know of a way to ensure the spark plugs on my 2005 Murano were changed. I'm at 120,000miles and MPG seemed poor so I thought it was about time to change the spark plugs. I checked with a local mechanic I have used in the past he said he could do the job. Dropped off the car in the morning and picked up in the afternoon. I did not see or feel any difference at all. The MPG is unchanged and I'm beginning to think they didn't do anything. I'm new to owning a car and did not know I should have asked for the old plugs to be saved so I could see them.

I was hoping there maybe a easy way to get at one of the plugs to see if they are original without tearing apart the whole car. The instructions on how to change the spark plugs seems like it takes a lot of work to get at the spark plugs.

Any ideas? Thanks, Matt

·
Registered
2,548 Posts
Its ALWAYS a good practice to ASK for the old part back (ahead of time) whenever you have a shop replace anything from your car. (Outside of fluids of course.) Maybe you can still ask the shop for the old plugs? It has to be NGK if its still the orginal.

You can check the ones in front by the radiator. The thing about this is they can just change these 3 in front and not do the rear ones if they are shady. To check the rear ones, you just follow the diy in the maintenance section.

I just did this spark plug swap on my 04 @ 100K about a week ago. My wife and I notice a better pick up when stepping on the gas pedal. More responsive even on the lightest touch. At first I thought that I might just be fooling myself. But the wife acknowledge that she also notice an improvement.