Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
5,268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just read the Pocket PC magazine and came accross this: OBDII Meter

It is cheap - $85 only. Anybody out there who tried it? It might be a usefull tool.

·
SHIFT_FASTER
1,437 Posts
I'm going to make one of these. The difficult part is the software (and I'm a software developer). The actual hardware is really simple. See if there is a demo software available for you to check out first.

·
5,268 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My understanding is that for $85 you actually get software......

·
SHIFT_FASTER
1,437 Posts
Of course. I'm just saying, you will want to make sure the software is well done.

·
Just wanna help
1,403 Posts
I have one in my audi...(more info)

Be careful when they say OBD or OBD2.

So many car uses OBD interface (like USB in your pc).
It is 'universal' but not completely universal. Meaning: some functions are OBD2 standard, but some important features can only be accessed by special tools proprietary to the car.
Hence, to acess the FULL FUNCTIONALITIES of let say the OBD of an Audi (like my car), i still need to use a special obd tools and obd software.

In audi (and VW world), we call them the VAG tools.
I have a set. Basically, it consist of an interface and a software.
The software can be instaled on a pda or a laptop.
The laptop's one have more functionality.
Yes, it can do all sort of things.
Like throtle body adaptations, ecu learning, engine rpm plots real time, reset maintenance lights, test all sensors etc etc.
Try to see here:
Ross tech engine tools

Being said that, dont fall for a "generic" obd tools marketing ploy.
You may bought it, but no necessarily it will do ALL things.
Of course, one day, someone will come out with an OBD tools that is dedicated to access every Murano functions. Buy this one, dont fall for generic ones.

Hope this helps...

·
SHIFT_FASTER
1,437 Posts