Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody have the OEM Murano cover and have experiences with it sitting in the rain?

I had ours covered and it rained for the first time on it. The description for the cover says it "repels" water. Well, after being soaked all night by rain, the cover was drenched in the morning. It sure didn't repel!!

It was so soaked that you can see the car under the cover in certain places (mosthly the hood/front end). The sun is now shining and it seems to be drying out quite well. I took a peak underneath and the paint seems to be ok. I did wax it before I covered it, so hopefully that helps. The cover claims to be breathable.

So question: is this ok for the Mo's paint? I have never used a cover before and typically don't like them. The only reason I'm using it (for both of our cars) is that we don't have a garage at the moment. Our new house won't be complete for another 2 months, so this is the best I can do to protect the cars outside. This is also the first time any of my cars have spent nights outside :(

·
Mr. 3 K, 3/3/5. 5K,10/5/7
4,994 Posts
Personally

My experience with car cover is limited to the Mercedes factory cover on a Mercedes.

Based on that, I would much rather have my vehicle rained on without a cover than with. Any dirt in the cover gets washed thru those wonderful breathable pores that also let the water in and thru the fabric and puts the resulting mud on the finish and then the good old sun gets to bake it into the paint.

Well, You asked for opinions and like arm pits I have two.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: Personally

GripperDon said:
My experience with car cover is limited to the Mercedes factory cover on a Mercedes.