Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

This question is not only Murano relevant, but since I drive one, I decided to ask it. So, oil changes are recommended every three thousand miles or three months. I have been driving my Murano for just over 4 months and I have 2800 miles on it. I haven't done an oil change yet. So, my question is, how important is it to do it EVERY 3 MONTHS if I didn't make 3000 yet?

Thanks!

·
Registered
472 Posts
The maintenance manual for 2005 says oil changes every 3 months or 3750 miles preferred but if you drive mostly highway miles under moderate conditions you can go every 6 months or 7500 miles.

·
Registered
2,393 Posts
IMHO: 3k oil change is mostly to enrich the dealer service dept and places like Jiffy Lube, etc. Many major manufacturers are now going to 10k to 15k recommended intervals (with appropriate oils and filters of course)

·
Registered
4,092 Posts
I think the standard oil change interveral that is recommend by manufactures was 7500 miles... and the oil filter every other time! I can't image doing that. I change it myselft every 3000 miles but only because I've had good luck with other cars and I'm too chicken to experiment now.

·
Premium Member
8,402 Posts
A few years ago, Maxima.org did an extensive oil test using Blackstone to see whether oil change intervals were accurate.

The verdict: even on cars which were in stop and go traffic with short trips, a 5000 mile interval on dino oil was just fine (the blackstone total base number remained acceptable until that point). With synthetic oil, it was found that 7000-8000 mile intervals did not harm the engine at all (from an oil analysis point of view).

Conclusion: the 3000 oil change was invented by dealers and Jiffy Lube to make more money, and the 7500 mile interval is not that unreasonable given the higher tolerances of the engines today.