Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI everyone, newbie here, but have been lurking for about 2 months. I took delivery of my SL AWD begining of October, and have to ask if there is anyone else dissapointed with the performance of the MO? I realize the CVT takes some time to get used to, but I just got smoked by both an old blazer and a 100K mi. GS 300!! And I mean smoked! There seems to be no low end acceleration. I am hoping someone will tell me mine is fubar and I should get it fixed along w/the door rattles. However, there isnt a place I go where the gawkers are not out!

Thanks,
Tony

·
Registered
400 Posts
Use Ds or L

The MO will accelerate, but you've got to do a little torque-braking in Ds or L. Even then, the acceleration really picks-up when the RPMs swing up past 4000 rpm.

Personally, I haven't had much trouble out-accelerating a few cars away from stoplights. It does take some time to learn how the CVT behaves in the MO. Once you get used to it, you'll learn how to launch it better.

Bob K.

·
5,268 Posts
wait till you get at least 5k miles. It will perform much better. i am approaching 10k and can see the difference. As a matter of fact I just "raced" new Infinity I35 at traffic light - you should see the face of the driver!

I agree with the previous post - 0 to 30 Murano seems a little bit sluggish, however once you past it.........it just flies. The CVT makes it very smooth so you will not really feel the kick like with clasic transmission.

·
Registered
466 Posts
I read somewhere that the Murano is designed to start off slow because the computer limits the amount of torque delivered to the CVT.

·
hail 2 the snail
796 Posts
Tony D said: