Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I have an 03 and a serious problem with rust around the top of the gas tank - I'm not very technical - its the part where you put the gas in- maybe called the gas tank neck or something - it is quite severely rusted. The seriice engine light comes on occasionally and especially if the gas level is low.
The dealer wants to replace it to the tune of about $1000-
I cannot believe that a car of this age should have such major rust -
they have suggested that I got salt on it during the winter - but really how can that happen ? I do what everyone else does - open the cap only when fueling - I believe that it is either a faulty part - or its a design flaw - how can Nissan use materials that can rust so easily?
Anyone have a similar problem or any ideas - I am just sick at having to shell out this much money for what I consider a parts/design flaw

·
Registered
12,512 Posts
willo-

Whoever told you the filler neck rusted because you got salt on it is full of [email protected] If you were filling the tank with a salt slurry then they would have a point. The dealer is just trying to scare you off.

Press the issue. You can also contact Nissan Consumers Affairs (800-NISSAN1), let them know that this dealer gave you a lame explanation and plead your case. With a little luck they may offer warranty consideration.

-njjoe

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
willo, have you had this car since new? Or did you buy it as a used car?
If used..........

well it "could" be a flood car.

Homer

·
Premium Member
7,136 Posts
Per Nissan's warranty manual, Murano is warranteed against rust through for 5 years regardless of mileage. Some exceptions such as improper maintenace exist but I did not see any related to your issue. Call Nissan hotline and press the issue and do not take no for an answer. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,477 Posts