Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
755 Posts
From what I can see the Canadian Murano S has both Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. Both are superior when using Google Maps or Waze for navigation compared to Nissan's navigation system IMO...

·
Registered
755 Posts
I threw my Blackberry away the day I retired and I know I have a bit of an attitude but I do not want an I Phone. The nav on my Murano has never let me down.
You didn't need to edit your post I didn't take it in a negative way.
Cheers
Yeah, I removed my comment regarding even my 85 year old Mom uses her iPhone for navigating after reflecting on how it might be taken... Glad you were't offended.

I had one of the old style keyboard Blackberry's back in the day.

I have been using Nissan's navigation system since 2003, and you're right, it never let me down either. And I never even updated the maps in my '03, too expensive for what they offered...

Nissan's navigation does have a much better map display. My only gripe with my '19 navigation is I can't seem to use the voice guidance to even recognize Home Depot, it complains about its phonetic database or something... The nice thing about Google Maps is it's much more up to date, and the voice recognition and guidance works great.

So, if you wanted to save several thousand dollars by not having to get the SL for its navigation, you can purchase an Android phone for cheap money and just use it for Android Auto or other useful apps. I got a Motorola Moto 6 Tracfone (nice phone!) from HSN.com on special for $99 with 1 year of service, 1500 minutes and 1.5 gig data, more than enough for a year of navigation for me. Even at $130, it's normal price, it's a bargain.