Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never done this before, but was curious when a friend of mine informed me about standing brake starts .. but it appears the murano won't do it? Presumably because it would be a bad idea with the CVT and the computer's programmed not to allow it ...
I'm also sad that the torque converter doesn't allow higher RPMS in general at low speeds.. there's a lot of lost low-speed power there :-(

·
NO-MO-SNOW
902 Posts
Your Murano is being smart by not allowing you to do this. It's not good for your transmission and even if it did allow this I wouldnt recommend it.

·
Premium Member
8,402 Posts
I believe in one of the car mags (the one that got a Murano going from 0-60 in 7.5s), it was noted that the Murano could be brake torqued, although I imagine it would be killer on the CVT and tiny torque converter.

·
Registered
30 Posts
When my son was 16, with a hot new driver's license in his pocket, he tried this on my Plymouth Valiant. Took out the transmission AND the differential!

·
Registered
28 Posts
I don't get all the fuss. Yes the Murano can be brake torqued. Doing so will spin the wheels on a FWD model. I did this on our test drive. What's going to get "killed?" I don't know what the stall speed of the TC is; but I'd put it around 2.2k. If you hold the brakes and bring the engine up to that, then release the brakes with a gas pedal stab, what's the harm? It's less of a shock to the entire driveline because the driveline is now preloaded. Simply mashing the go pedal is more stress since it's a shock to the whole driveline. The only thing that torque braking does is raise the temp of the tranny fluid. Now simply holding down the gas to the floor while holding the brakes is not proper brake torquing and IS bad.

·
Premium Member
8,402 Posts