Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I have figured out why the Murano is rated at 3500lbs when my 4runner with MUCH less power had a 5000lbs rating.

Its either the CVT doesn't like it.

OR you have to buy these armature things to install a hitch from Nissan. This would SEVERELY impare the hitches abilty to handle 5000lbs due to the design of having these armatures connecting the hitch to the frame.
Its just a guess, I am not an engineer, just a [revious Master mechanic with a lot of training.

So I bet with these aftermarket that bolt straight to the frame you would have NO PROBLEM towing more than the rated #'s. Just like (I forget his handle) tows his hotrod on a flatbed, with an aftermarket hitch if I am not mistaken.

Don't take this as an open idea of towing larger loads.

Just my personal opinion when I inquired into the Nissan tow hitch and viewed the "dinky" armature things needed to install the Nissan tow hitch. I was also told by Nissan mechanics it was a lame design, a pain to install, and Nissan could have engineered something a lot easier.

Just my HO once again,
Chez

·
Premium Member
8,402 Posts
Are you referring to the modified bumper reinforcement as the armature? Or is the armature something completely different? I am considering adding a hitch to the Murano, but was wary about doing my own installation since I saw that the Nissan kit requires you to disassemble the rear bumper as well.

·
Registered
400 Posts
DrawTite hitch is pretty easy

Consider the DrawTite hitch. It does require the removal of the muffler (4 bolts and 2 rubber mounts). After that, remove 4 bolts (12 mm) and remove the rear tie-down bracket. Then install the hitch using the 6 bolts and washers (supplied), then install the muffler again. Very straight-forward and only took 1.5 hours. (I took my time and cleaned the hitch and muffler before putting everything back on...)

Bob K.

·
Custom Knife Creations
293 Posts