Nissan Murano Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just installed the Murano factory trailer wiring harness on my '06 Murano. If one follows the directions, which I belive I did, I can't see how anything can foul up, but I am having a problem with power going to the taillights even when the ignition is off and the lights are in the off position. Directionals and brake lights work fine, but the harness remains hot with the ignition off. Has anyone encountered this problem? Looks like a lousy relay, but I would hate like hell to spend another hundred bucks. I have been wiring trailers for over 20 years and this is the first time I have ever encountered anything like this.

·
Registered
842 Posts
I to did a lot of trailer wiring in my days but the Mo wiring made me go to the trailer wiring shop that I get parts from to have them look at it. They had tried to wire up Mo in the past had met with failure. It finally got to the point that the shop only recommends the dealership to do the wiring, they did not want to screw up the computer controls in the Mo.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Nice to know I am not suffering alone.

I think rather than pay the dealer a couple of hundred bucks I am just going to put a switch on the hot wire to the harness or simply disconnect it and only turn it on when I am towing.

·
Registered
842 Posts
minimal said:
Thanks. Nice to know I am not suffering alone.

I think rather than pay the dealer a couple of hundred bucks I am just going to put a switch on the hot wire to the harness or simply disconnect it and only turn it on when I am towing.
You are right about the cost as it was $225 to do the wiring at the dealership, however the piece of mind was priceless.

·
Mr. 3 K, 3/3/5. 5K,10/5/7
4,994 Posts
Go for the switch

If the Brake and turns are Ok.

·
Mr. 3 K, 3/3/5. 5K,10/5/7
4,994 Posts
Help discount the cost of replacing the bad alternators.

minimal said: