1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Umm what are z tubes?:confused:

·
SHIFT_FASTER
1,437 Posts
Z tubes are a replacement for the "dryer hose" that connects the throttle to the intake manifold. They are smoother inside, giving better airflow and a few more horsepower. I have a feeling that it won't fit, and they won't make one to fit. Basically, G35 owners found that the tube from the Z would fit on their cars. What you have to realize is that these are not performance aftermarket parts, these are stock parts that may fit on other vehicles.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Now I am no mechanic I only know what little I do from what I read in the forums, but would extra horsepower cause more stress on a supposedly already stress CVT?

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
i dunno how much the cvt can handle but it wont break if u do minor things, will a murano jwt pop charger fit on it.

·
My MO's faster than yours
444 Posts
simplesb said:
Now I am no mechanic I only know what little I do from what I read in the forums, but would extra horsepower cause more stress on a supposedly already stress CVT?
If CVT's were so fragile Mo's wouldn't have a 3500 towing capacity. I think Towing would put alot of stress on our CVT's yet Mo's can handel it.....IMO i don't think 5-10 horses will make any diffrence...

·
Registered
746 Posts
I doubt very much that the replacement for this tube will generate more HPs in a restricted Murano environment (both intake and exhaust would have to be greatly improved before any noticeable gain would come from such changes).

In a 350Z or G35, both the intake and the exhaust are already designed to maximize the flow so that if you remove a small restriction in the middle, it will show all the way.

Think of this as a funnel. You may increase the top side or the middle of the funnel by whatever ratio you want. As long as the bottom opening remains this little, you won't get more flow out of there and no HP gain.

·
4,664 Posts